Rifle Import Requirements:

The smallest calibre allowed is 7 mm. No solid points are allowed. Handguns, automatic weapons and crossbows are prohibited. It is recommended that the maximum of two firearms be imported to Namibia per client and any unconventional firearms to be imported for trophy hunting must be applied for to the Inspector General and be granted permission before your departure to Namibia.

Please take care of the following procedure to minimize problems when traveling with firearms to Namibia:

  • All bags need to be adequately marked with nametags for identification.
  • Firearms – must be packed unloaded in a sturdy carry case.
  • Ammunition must be stored in a secure lockable container and transported separately to your firearms for Airline check-in.
  • Check you rifle directly through to Hosea Kutako International Airport in Namibia if you fly with Lufthansa from your country.( This is not recommended if you fly through Johannesburg)
  • Windhoek’s airport International baggage code is WDH.
  • Only ammunition for the specific calibre of firearms your importing may be imported.
  • A maximum of 100 rounds may be imported per rifle.
  • Take out full insurance for all firearms before traveling to Otjandaue.
  • Fill in the rifle import permit before your departure to Namibia to speed up your customs clearing.
  • If you fly via Johannesburg please check the South African Police regulations to minimize any problems on the Napha website: www.napha.com.na.

Click Here to download Rifle Permit. The travel agency that we recommend and like to work with is Frosch International travel website: www.froschtravel.com e-mail: rjamison@froschtravel.com Phone: 979-732-5712

Visa requirements

All visitors to Namibia must be in possession of a valid passport. Temporary residence permits for visitors are issued on arrival and allow tourists a period of 90 days per year in the country. Bona fide and business travelers of the following countries are exempted from visa requirements: Angola, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lichtenstein, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Mozambique, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Zimbabwe.